Ask an Atheist Day

I imagine if you do not know a lot of atheists then you would have no idea it is “Ask an Atheist Day.”  Well it is and here is a little blurb about it

atheist“National Ask An Atheist Day is an opportunity for secular groups across the country to work together to defeat stereotypes about atheism and encourage courteous dialogue between believers and nonbelievers alike. The event is intended to be an opportunity for the general public – particularly people of faith – to approach us and ask questions about secular life.”

Since this blog should be as much about me learning about Christianity as it should be you learning about secular life.  Both groups have extremists and it and it a shame when anyone is pigeonholed into those beliefs as if they speak for everyone.

So ask me a question.  I will answer what I believe and what I think most atheists think in regards to your question.

I will answer every single question (as long as they are appropriate) in a subsequent blog post.  I figure since people tend to come back to my blog over a week after posting I will give everyone a week to get their questions posted in the comments.

If you don’t want to post publicly you can always email me – victoriousolive [ at ] me [dot] com

(also I am sorry for my lack of posting as of late but trying to keep straight A’s in 16 units at school with half being science classes is pretty much taking up my whole life)

6 thoughts on “Ask an Atheist Day

  1. Dy-Anne,
    I have quite a few questions. I’ll just list some of them here, as they come to me.
    1) If I’m recalling correctly, you said earlier that you *wanted* to believe. What percentage of atheists do you think feel this way? Do you still feel that way yourself (again, if I am remembering correctly)?
    2) What do you think is the “final straw” that causes most atheists to become atheists?
    3) And by the same token, what do you think causes most atheists to begin that journey in the first place?
    4) Are most atheists really contemptuous of believers? I remember reading that you are more accepting of Christians now.
    5) What gives atheists a sense that life on this Earth is worth it if there’s nothing else to anticipate after dying?
    Goodness, earlier in the day when I didn’t have time to sit down and type this up, I had several other questions. Can’t think of them now but am going ahead and posting and may check back in later.
    Thanks for this opportunity.
    Good luck in school!
    – Sallie

    • I’m just going to answer that here for you – I have no idea because to be honest I have no idea what Existentialism is. I looked it up and it seems to be a fancy way to say you are agnostic. Which means there is something out there but not a conscious creator.

      • Existentialism can be either theistic (a la Kierkegaard) or it can non-theistic, which can be well, just what it says–this can be agnostic or atheistic or undecided. Note that the true definition of agnostic is one of believes the question of god’s existence, or not, is unknowable. I lean toward that, but chose to live my life as if he/she/it does not exist. I won’t go into the reasons for that as it would make this reply way too long. Suffice to say, though, I prefer the label “non-theistic existentialist” to agnostic. I focus on human meaning in life.

  2. Haven’t been over to read in a while (I didn’t realize you were posting again). I can’t think of a single question… oddly enough… but my brain is feeling a bit fried by this cold. (And I’m outside your week-window anyway).

    Anyway (I’m a friend of Shannon Dingle’s and often see your comments on her fb, which is how I found your blog) I’ve been reading along and enjoying hearing about your adventure.

    • Hi Jenelle 🙂

      Yeah I’m posting, though sporadically. If you come up with something feel free to ask. The questions really make me think about things so they are welcome at any time. I try to remember to answer them publicly too.

Leave a Reply

