Science vs Religion

In January I started back to school.  I already have a Bachelor’s degree but it is in Sociology and not a science so I have a lot of prerequisites I need to do before I can apply to the School of Nursing.  
I am taking both Biology and Chemistry right now and what I cannot understand is how do scientists combine their belief in a creator with what they know scientifically to be true?  

My chemistry professor has a Master’s in Biochemistry yet from what I have gathered from his Twitter account he is very much a Christian.  I think he might even be Mormon from some of his tweets.  I don’t want to ask him about it because even though my grades are not subjective I don’t want my lack of belief to effect his grading but also it might be slightly inappropriate.

Then my biology professor has a PhD in Marine Biology.  He has to believe in evolution or how else could you really teach it to a 132 people a semester? I only know he is a Christian because I am sure that is not a T he is wearing on his neck everyday. 

How do you believe in evolution and the story of Adam and Eve at the same time?  How can you even be part of a culture that has people actively calling your kind (scientists) fakes and in cahoots with Satan to fool the public in not believing in god?

Like I really do not get it.  

11 thoughts on “Science vs Religion

  1. Personally, I have never been able to reconcile the two as an atheist. Although, I have told Christians there isn’t any reason they can’t, even I am not able to myself. It’s all about what they are personally willing to believe. As long as it works for them, I have no qualms with it, but if they start insisting science is a bunch of bull and we should believe as they do, then I take issue with it.

  2. The question you ask is great. It’s an important one too.

    It’s important to remember that not every Christian believes that the Bible is 100% factual. A person could treat the first few chapters of the Bible as fable and still believe in God, and specifically that Jesus is the Son of God. It’s called theistic evolution. Then you have the literal interpretation of Genesis 1 in which God created the Universe in 6 days and it’s only 6000 or so years old (but looks older). And then you have the belief that the 6 days is a reference to time and that humans were created by God by His own hands some unknown years ago.

  3. I’ve never understood how some could teach that either.

    I had a teacher in high school who was clearly a Christian and she would teach both creationism and evolution, but both as theories.

    Something I think is neat or interesting is “creation moments” I here them on talk radio sometimes but there is a website with all things “creation moments”. It’s showing how God is involved in biology.

    http://www.creationmoments.com/

  4. If you look at Gen. 1, there is much room for differing interpretations. For instance, it’s an example of Hebrew poetry with its repetition and parallelism. I do not think it was ever meant to be a literal/historic account. Good questions. You should ask your profs. I’m sure theyd be delighted to answer regardless of your position on faith.

  5. I believe in evolution. For me the bible is more a book of fables. Like aesops fables. To give us stories of the old times, and moral guidance. Obviously times change, society changes, and we find out more and more about how our universe came to be.
    I’m not a mainstream Christian so to speak. I believe God created the spark of life to get the universe started and evolution took over from there. Am I wrong? Maybe. But as much as I am a scientific and critical thinker, there have been times in my life where I felt God’s presence and knew deep in my heart there was some sort of higher power at work.
    Now you could call it a simple chemical reaction in my brain that made me feel this way, but that’s where faith comes in I guess.
    😉

  6. I am a christian and I have a degree in Archeaology and had to reconcile both. This is my belief-God is the creator of all things including our concepts of space and time as such he is not bound by them. Therefore one day in the life of God could be a millennia in our time. The evolutionary process that we see in science is God’s the evidence of God’s creation.

    I encourage you to ask your professors about it. They have had to reconcile it themselves. Coming from a field that is highly populated with people who do not believe, they are probably quite accoustomed to discussing it.

  7. Interesting site. Plan to read some of it.
    Dy-Anne, concerning scientists being able to find science compatible with the Bible, there are numerous examples of this in “The Case for the Creator,” which I mentioned earlier. And many of those scientists are very well known. I, personally, found it very enlightening.

Leave a Reply

