If you think

This
http://www.rightwingwatch.org/content/fischer-god-didnt-stop-ct-school-shooting-because-hes-gentleman-who-doesnt-go-where-he-not-w

or this

http://thinkprogress.org/politics/2012/12/14/1339971/huckabee-says-connecticut-school-massacre-occurred-because-we-removed-god-from-our-schools/?mobile=nc

Then you don’t are part of the reason that Christians get a bad rap.

And how do you explain this
http://www.foxnews.com/us/2012/09/07/1-dead-1-wounded-during-kentucky-homeowners-meeting-held-in-church/

or this
http://articles.chicagotribune.com/2012-11-27/news/ct-met-gang-funeral-murder-1127-20121127_1_homicide-victims-gang-member-gunfire-rings

Basically if you believe in God and Jesus then isn’t he in your heart? That isn’t left outside the doors when you enter a school.  You can still pray and I imagine many of those kids did today and all of the parents did yet some still died.  Whether you believe it was a random act of violence or you want to feel like it was part of a bigger plan you just cannot understand – that is fine.  But please tell your elected officials and the people that speak on a national level as if they are speaking for all Christians that people act on their own accord and to not push their own poli-religous agenda on people during times of tragedy.

4 thoughts on “If you think

  1. Hi Dy-Anne, you make a great point! I too get disgusted when I’ve heard Christians say the same thing. I’m a Christian but what they are saying is absurd and insensitive. The link you provided on the shooting in the church is an excellent point. Though I would argue that God really isn’t invited into many churches these days either…but that’s a whole different story. As you said, even if a believer is in a place that may be hostile to God, we were given the promise that he would never leave nor forsake us. It’s sad that some lunatic would go and do something so atrocious, then Christians come back with this response instead of one of love and compassion.

  2. Oh, Dy-Anne! I am so sorry that all of this happened. There is a void in America of Christians who are filled with the Holy Spirit. The Holy Spirit gives: love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, temperance, and faith. If you could see the Holy Spirit move in most Christians I think you might view Christians differently. The problem is that Christians are not living in the Spirit and loving everybody like Jesus loves them. Most Christians, but not all, are very selfish and the result is that there is a lack of love within them. You see good is the only thing that will ever overcome evil.

    Wherever you see someone loving someone unselfishly: there is God.

  3. Dy-Anne,
    For what it’s worth, I don’t agree with those who say this happened b/c there’s no prayer in schools, etc. If we leave it up to a few school prayers or such to provide the right tone, the right ideas, the right guidance for the nation’s youth, then it’s a lost cause. I barely even remember a prayer or the Pledge of Allegiance being done at school when I was young. That’s not what taught me my values – it was my parents and other Godly people who lived around me and influenced me. I actually have thought about this a lot when people begin discussing school prayer and similar issues.

    I regret that some Christians say such things as what you posted. But just like any group of people, there are those who will say things in the group that others disagree with – sometimes very much. And sometimes we have to struggle not to throw the baby out with the bath water (maybe not a good expression to use at this time, but it’s the only phrase I can think of to express what I mean here). Even if *some* Christians express themselves this way, please don’t lump us all together and condemn us all b/c of what certain others say.

  4. Hi again, Dy-Anne,

    Happy New Year!

    I wasn’t sure what blog entry to post this under, so I just chose the last one that you posted. After I mentioned earlier to you the blog willingtothink.org, I “liked” it myself on FB, so I sometimes see some of their posts. Today, I saw this one and thought of you – and wanted to share. Not sure if you ever checked them out or not, but it does appear to me that they provide some interesting things to think about. Here ’tis:

    “You just gotta have faith. That’s the whole point of faith, belief without reason. It’s called blind faith for a reason. Take a leap of faith.” Ever heard this? Ever said this? I have and I have. But this is not the Christian faith. The Christian faith is testable. It’s intertwined and tangled up with real historical events. It’s interwoven with real people, predictions about the future, physics, metaphysics, DNA, and every other aspect of the universe. All things point to the God who is there. Faith is the substance or the evidence of the things you can’t see. It’s not hope! It’s the being sure of the hope. Faith is impossible without reason. Start here on our first podcast to hear how we know that God is there.”

    [audio src="http://www.podcastrevolution.com/file/world_radio/audio/INTRODUCTION_-_WILLING_TO_THINK.mp3" /]

    Hope your 2013 is great.

    – Sallie

Leave a Reply

