You’re STILL Going?

Yes.  I’m still going to church.  I know its after Easter so this means the only person I am obligated to is me really.  The kids like going and I like getting to have an hour of times once a week to sit and not have to manage any one.  That’s as good of a reason as any right?  Seriously, I do like my kid-free time.

I also see it like school and I have said this a few times.  I take notes diligently.  I think about what’s being said and I form my own thoughts about it.  Some of the message is silly, some enraging, and some does speak to me.  Yesterday for example, there was a part about fellowship.  That is probably what I get out of church the most- fellowship.  The pastor was talking about having people that you have a connection with because of the belief – but I don’t have those beliefs but I am still finding connections.  It is weird and strained sometimes I think.  Quite possibly that is just my feeling of it too.  It does make one very self-conscious to know you are the odd man out – or in this case the outted atheist.

I am happy to have met the people I have met.  If not for this challenge I would not have taken a social media acquaintance and turned her into a friend.  I am not sure there would have been any reason to associate other than the quick comment or like on Facebook.  One new friend alone has made this worth my time.  (HI STEF!) |

There are other people I have met, though we don’t talk outside of church it is nice having people to chat with while I am there.  I do not under estimate the power of adult conversation as a stay at home mom, especially one with preschool aged children at home.  Dora the Explorer can only hold my attention for so many days straight.

So yes I am still going.  Will I make it every Sunday?  Maybe; maybe not, but I haven’t yet found a reason to say goodbye.

7 thoughts on “You’re STILL Going?

  1. I am reminded of my parents explanation of why we left the church. It started when my mom had to teach one of the kid groups, and she was given the lesson plan. She was surprised how strict it was; it didn’t leave any room for questioning, and she didn’t like the idea of teaching it to children. After looking into the church my parents decided that they no longer believed in Mormonism. They didn’t want to leave the church because they wanted to provide some regularity for me and my brothers. Then they looked at how much money it costed us and they had to consider how it was affecting me and my brothers. What we were taking in. They decided that it wasn’t true and was also harmful.

    This is of course your choice, and it is always interesting to see other points of view. There are good lessons in places like this, but I don’t think it’s the only place for them. Not too far from me is a place called the ethical society (or something sort of like that.) It’s a humanist organization that has meetings evey Sunday, has things for kids and even carries out marriages. They call themselves religious, but it is essentially an atheist church. I don’t know how common they are, but there are other places to go.

    I do think you should take into consideration on what your children are taking in. I don’t know their ages, or what they do (I used to play games and color) but they don’t know how to tell the difference between what’s a good lesson and what’s religious. I don’t think it’s an environment for any children, no matter who their parents are.

    It is of course your buisness and your choice; I’m not going to force you to do anything else, but I would like you to know that your not dependent on a church for that kind of social feeling, and you should think about how it affects your kids. Every church is different; I can’t judge what yours is like. It’s just my opinion.

  2. Hi Dy!
    I am so grateful your experiment brought us together as friends. I have to admit, I’m still a little shocked to see you each Sunday.. but it’s a HAPPY shocked. 🙂

    To AtheistEvolving, please please please don’t lump all churches together. Mormon churches are very different than a non-denominational church. We are come as you are.. Dy-Anne is welcomed with open arms. No one cares that her beliefs are different. She knows what’s best for her kiddos.. and if she thought they were being brainwashed.. she wouldn’t bring them. We are not here to force her or them to do anything. We’re here to LOVE them… and we do. That’s not religious. That’s from the heart. And it’s what this church is.

    Stef

    • On lumping churches together, I made it clear that I could not judge what this church is like, although I’m not quite sure why you think it would be different from my old church just because I was Mormon. I also tried to convey that I respected her decision on what right for her kids. I was merely stating my opinion, and I don’t necessarily think she has to listen to me.

      One more thing, is that I think you misunderstood me a bit. With what you said about loving her kids, I know that is part of church, and it’s a good part. It’s the part that is absolutely good for her kids. The part that I think is not so good is what parts are more religious. I dont think religion is something for any kid as it is strong beliefs when they are not quite ready to form their own opinions. Again I can’t judge your church, but there are religious things which I’m going to assume Dy-Anne as an atheist doesn’t agree with (then again maybe she does) and wouldn’t necessarily want her children to be in a position of confliction. That is a part of church.

      But I want to make absolutely clear that
      1. I am not trying to start a fight by any means; Dy-Anne seems to dislike them on her site which I respect, and I really don’t want one.
      2. I am NOT trying to convince her to stop going. I am merely stating my opinion (as seen in my comments) which I do want her to consider. I don’t want to force her to do anything and will respect her and whatever decisions she makes.

      • AetheistEvolving….what are you considering (topics/ideas/thoughts) to be “to religious” that you wouldn’t want to involve kids in those positions? I’m just curious (not being judgmental). At what age are you ok letting children seek that type of information?

Leave a Reply

