It’s been 3 weeks!

I have had multiple comments on my blog over the last 3 weeks and I think that is great.  Many of them have had questions; some I have chosen to answer right away but others I haven’t.  The ones that have been ignored have only been because I needed more space that a comment, i felt it was more appropriate to discuss in its own post or simply I didn’t have an answer at that point.

For the next few posts (days) I am going to address some of these questions.

But first I want to talk about the past few days.

I did go to church on Sunday despite still being emotionally exhausted from the previous afternoon/evening’s horrendous activities.  I took Jack with me simply because with the time change everyone else in the house was still asleep.  Church is starting a new series called “The View” which seems (so far) to just discuss the type of church they are, what their beliefs are, etc.  I have decided that I will most likely stay through this series even if is goes past Easter simply because its already invoking a lot of thought and emotion from me.

Last night I took at the kids to a pot luck dinner with one of the bible study groups I was with.  It wasn’t about church just about hanging out.  I did find it strange that there wasn’t a prayer before the meal.  I have been to birthday parties where they pray before they cut the cake so even though it didn’t bother me in the least, it was odd.

Baby Jack saw his Pediatrician yesterday and she gave him a thumbs up.  He is doing fantastic.  I really do appreciate all the nice comments for him and us.

I have been slacking on my bible reading and I can’t seem to get into any of the Christian Non-fiction books I have started.  They are dry like a text book.  I think I am going to read Revelations and find a book on Apologetics as was recommended to me.

10 thoughts on “It’s been 3 weeks!

  1. Been following for a week or so here. I have a question (sorry if it was already addressed):

    You mention in the “About this” section of your blog that you will be praying actively. How’s that part going?

    Many blessings to you,
    Vince

  2. Dy-Anne, do you like non-Christian “apologetic” books? I mean, if you don’t like that style on other subjects, it seems like you wouldn’t like them here… Or maybe it’s just that you found boring authors. They are out there… contaminating the world of great literature with their boring writing and boring topic. Beware. 😉

    • This is my first attempt at books whose main goal is to prove the existence of a god. I love to read but typically read fiction or sociological non-fiction.

  3. I am glad Jack is doing better. I know that stuff is super scary!
    Let me know if you’d be interested in a book called the Nature and Character of God. It’s a great easy read theology book. I can send it to you if you’d like it 🙂

  4. Congratulations, you are over half way there! I have been following your blog every day. I have really been praying for you. I have a book recommendation for you though. It is called Changed into His Image by Jim Berg. It really opened my eyes and brought me a closer understanding of being close to God.

    I am really really thankful that Jack did not sufffer any damage from the fall. I have no clue what I would do in this situation. I find when I do not know what to read I stufy something in detail like how many times in Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John is the phrase Son of God used. You can also go to bible.com and type in Son of God and just read those verses individually. There is more than one way to spend time learing about the Bible. The other fun study is just studying the miracles of Jesus.

  5. “surprised by faith” by don bierle might be interesting to you. I believe he is a former atheist if my memory serves me

  6. Glad to hear that Jack is doing well!

    Also glad to hear that you’re thinking of continuing to attend church for at least a while after Easter.

    Meanwhile, good luck with your change of plans concerning your reading material. The switch to apologetics sounds good. And Revelation – well – wow – that’s the one book that my husband and I didn’t finish in the New Testament after he became a Christian even though I’ve studied it on my own a couple of times. It’s challenging to say the least – but not boring! God bless, in whatever you study.

    I’ll be out of touch for the next few days, but will get back online next week.

Leave a Reply

