A Request for Help – day 15

I was told that adopting a baby from another country is very “christian-like.”  I don’t know of the stats on christian adoption versus secular adoption but I am sure adopting babies happens equally in both populations.  I don’t know too much about adoption which is odd because people in my family are adopted.

The point of today’s post is simply a request for help.

My good friend Shannon and her family are adopting a baby girl from Taiwan.  This baby girl was premature at birth only weighing 2 pounds 15 ounces and has Cerebral Palsy.  Because the little girl is so young they cannot know the severity of the condition but that makes no difference to them.  They will adopt her, and love her and raise her as if she grew in Shannon’s belly just like her other two children.  That is the type of person Shannon is.  I don’t know if being a Christian has made her this way or if she is just one of those people who no matter how she was raised would have turned out wonderful.

OK, enough gushing about Shannon.  What I would like for you guys to do is click on this link and go read her blog.  Then look on the side of her blog and consider donating to her cause.  Share her cause on your Facebook.  If you live in North Carolina consider going to their Chick-Fil-A fundraiser on March 22.

None of this benefits me.  Shannon didn’t ask me to post this. I approached her when I started my blog to ask for a button to put on my sidebar and I told her I would write a post later.  Today seems like a good day later. 😀

6 thoughts on “A Request for Help – day 15

  1. Thanks for this post, Dy-Anne. And it’s definitely Christ who has made me this way, not anything innate in myself. The self-centered girl I used to be before He changed me would have been more concerned about a nice house and fancy cars than an orphan on the other side of the world.

  2. My husband and I are both Atheists and we have seriously considered adopting. There are so many children who don’t have a home or loving parents! You don’t have to be Christian to have a heart or to be moral as I’m sure you are aware.

    I’m reading your blog out of curiosity for this social experiment. I’m also hoping the Christians that read your blog will see Atheists are just people too- we have morals, ethics, and live normal lives.

    • Absolutely! Atheists are not immoral people. Also, I don’t care what religion anyone is I think if the choice is a home with people who love you versus an orphanage or foster care, I think home wins hands down.

  3. Love that you posted this to help your friend Shannon & her family!!!!! I will go check out her blog, makes me smile to realize I live so close to Taiwan now & am preparing to begin an adoption journey myself here in Hong Kong… I once thought it was an impossible dream, but God has made a way, He will do so for Shannon also!

    As for it being a Christian thing to adopt, yes it is. Although many loving & caring people that are not Christians do it also… However we Christians generally do it out of the compassion God has given us for His children & out of obedience to His urgent pleas/instruction: “Pure and genuine religion in the sight of God the Father means caring for orphans and widows in their distress and refusing to let the world corrupt you.” -James 1:27

    Personally, I don’t think that implies adopting from overseas is any more important than adopting from where you live… In my case, I live in Asia & will adopt here. If I live in the States again, I may indeed adopt from there at some point also. Any orphan needs a loving home & family, they all cry for help & a place to call home. But it IS true that while those in America face many troubling scenarios, at the very least – they are not in institutions where babies are lined up in cribs until they are 5yrs old & never picked up or hugged with more than 20 in a room… with the cries of dying children audible from the quite real ‘dying rooms’ nearby where the sick babies are truly left to die… I pray for all orphans, group homes & multiple foster homes with chances for abuse are not okay either, but full tummies and not being left unattended by the hundreds does give the kids in the States a bit of a step up. In any case, I’d just as soon see all kids adopted by good people regardless of their faith – I pray it happens one day! – Praying too for your friend Shannon!

    • Thanks for praying for us! I do agree that adoption is needed both in our own country (I’m in the US) and other countries. We weren’t planning to adopt from Taiwan, but the need for our daughter and our willingness to meet that need all came together in God’s timing so that’s how it’s working out for us. Verses like the one you quoted have definitely been among the ones that have confirmed this journey for our family, and I can’t wait to bring Zoe Amanda home!

  4. I’m also a little curious as to why you would think that adoption, specifically from another country, was a “christian-like” thing to do. In fact, I am aware of certain arguments which may trace the origin of the expression “charity begins at home” to scripture:

    4 But if a widow has children or grandchildren, these should learn first of all to put their religion into practice by caring for their own family and so repaying their parents and grandparents, for this is pleasing to God. 5 The widow who is really in need and left all alone puts her hope in God and continues night and day to pray and to ask God for help. 6 But the widow who lives for pleasure is dead even while she lives. 7 Give the people these instructions, so that no one may be open to blame. 8 Anyone who does not provide for their relatives, and especially for their own household, has denied the faith and is worse than an unbeliever.
    ~1 Timothy 5 (NIV)

    now that being said, as Christians, although we are told to not ignore the home front, there are numerous places in scripture which instruct us to not let our charity end there:

    35 For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in,
    ~Matthew 25 (NIV)

    13 But now in Christ Jesus you who once were far away have been brought near by the blood of Christ.
    14 For he himself is our peace, who has made the two groups one and has destroyed the barrier, the dividing wall of hostility, 15 by setting aside in his flesh the law with its commands and regulations. His purpose was to create in himself one new humanity out of the two, thus making peace, 16 and in one body to reconcile both of them to God through the cross, by which he put to death their hostility. 17 He came and preached peace to you who were far away and peace to those who were near. 18 For through him we both have access to the Father by one Spirit. 19 Consequently, you are no longer foreigners and strangers, but fellow citizens with God’s people and also members of his household,
    ~Ephesians 2 (NIV)

    but there are many more.

    In Greek, the word for “charity” (agape) is also the word for “love”.

    so where we see the following verse translated in the New International Version of the bible as:

    And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love
    ~1 Corinthians 13 (NIV)

    in the Cambridge edition of he King James bible it is rendered:

    And now abideth faith, hope, charity, these three; but the greatest of these is charity
    ~1 Corinthians 13 (KJV)

    Pretty cool huh?

    As Christians were told to love everyone and therefore to preform charity as the opportunity presents itself and as God leads us. Not necessarily at home or in a foreign land, one any more than the other. Likewise, it’s the same with people of no faith. Although I can’t say that there are weaker Christians, who will assume that it is only Christians who or moral or ethical, it’s really not our place to make that judgement about anyone else, Christian or not. So of course orphans would be better with loving atheist parents than to remain orphans and in the end that adopted child will have the same choice to make as the one raised in a Christian household – that is to accept his love or not.

    I’m told that there is a Scottish version of this maxim which goes: : “Charity begins at home, but shouldn’t end there.”, which may more accurately describe the Christian’s instruction when it comes to showing charity. I like that, because it reminds us of exactly what your friend Brittany is saying above; we are all just people, no one of us any better than another. We all have the capacity for charity, because we all have the capacity for love.

    Thanks for your post Dy-Anne, and Shannon, you and your family will be in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

