My First Bible Study – day 10

One of the things I dislike most is walking into a group of people when I don’t know anyone or almost no one.  Usually this plus being late would have been more than enough for me to just come up with a good excuse as to why I ended up not going. But I went anyways.

It wasn’t a big deal.  Everyone brought food (me too!) and we ate and then went and watched the video that is part of the series the church is doing right now called “not a fan.”  Basically it was about actually following Christ and not just the “rules” that many religions seem to follow.  As former LDS it was pretty easy to sit around and talk about the rules and how they can get in the way and shift focus from what it important.  I don’t think you need to be a believer to know that.  The only thing that made this different from my online atheist groups’ discussions is there was talk about having a relationship with Jesus and everyone was serious.

I was very apprehensive about going.  Not just because of the new people but I thought I would be very out of place.  I wouldn’t have all the knowledge that everyone else had and that I just wouldn’t fit in (more so than the being a non-believer).   I didn’t know until the end but everyone already knew I am an Atheist and no one cared.  That was refreshing.  I have yet to find a person who, at least not outwardly, condemns me for being a non-believer.

I like this group of people and I liked being able to have conversations with other adults that didn’t revolve around my kids.

Free childcare was a bonus too.   🙂

6 thoughts on “My First Bible Study – day 10

  1. I’m so glad you have decided to attend the church you are going to for lent. They remind me a lot of the church I go to. The people seem real. That’s what people need. It seems as though you are happier, maybe? Eventhough times are tough for you, you just keep moving on.

  2. One of the things my husband enjoyed about attending church, even before he became a Christian, was associating with the people and becoming friends with them. He still revels in it (even though we don’t have children! :-)). I wish the same for you.

    • Sallie, that is one of the things I enjoyed most about church too, before I became a Christian. My husband isn’t a Christian (yet – give him time! LOL) and he also really enjoys church. I had been searching for 15 years for some kind of community, and I never expected I’d find it in a church, but I really feel like I’ve found a home there.

  3. Oh, and I should have added/explained: He’s not a person who likes to attend things where he doesn’t know people either.

  4. Very Cool! This is what Christians would refer to as “Fellowship” – that is the friendly association with like minded Christians. In Acts, were told that not only did the early church enjoy the fellowship of other Christians, they devoted themselves to it:

    Acts 2 (NIV)
    42 They devoted themselves to the apostles’ teaching and to fellowship, to the breaking of bread and to prayer.

    It’s one of only four things that we are told they devoted themselves to. That sounds important and it is. It’s not really what you might expect, yes it’s safe and we’re not likely to experience judgement or anyone challenging our beliefs (the snacks and child care are a plus too), but there is really much more to it. There is a strength that comes about from the fellowship of other Christians, that I’m not sure I can be explained unless you are a Christian. For most Christians, it’s not really a discipline to devote ourselves to fellowship – we crave it. We want to commune with the body of which we are a part.

    I’ve heard Christian fellowship described as bricks arranged in a wall. If I’m walking through one of our fields and stub my toe on a brick, I’ll be annoyed. The brick will probably give way a few inches to the force of my kicking it. I’m may become so annoyed that I pick the brick up and chuck it. Now, if I take that same brick and mortar it to another, and then another and another the bricks become part of a wall. Now that’s a force to be recon with. The wall wouldn’t give to me kicking it, I couldn’t chuck it anywhere, as a matter of fact, if it’s built correctly, I could drive my truck into it and the wall would remain pretty much unaffected.

    Think about how bricks are arranged in a brick wall. They’re not stacked directly on top of one and other (i.e. in contact with the fewest number of other bricks) but rather staggered – bonded by the mortar to the maximum number of bordering bricks. There’s a reason for that; if we tried to build a brick wall without doing so it would result in a wall containing long sections of continuous mortar (the weakest part of the wall) one good pop from a sledge hammer and the wall might crack right in half, along any of those lines. With the bricks staggered, a crack anywhere in the wall can never travel more than a few inches before coming upon a brick. To destroy the wall we need to crack any number of bricks and not just the mortar holding them together.

    It’s the same with fellowship. Probably the weakest part of our existence (like the mortar) is our relationships with others. We really just treat each other horribly, we lie to one and other, judge each other, think about each other nakid! We aspire not to, but we are human and therefore will always be subject to some temptation in one way or another. Now my greatest weakness may be lust, or greed, or wiping boogers on my bosses chair – it doesn’t really matter, because someone else in that wall can handle that temptation and I can handle their greatest temptation. In this way we keep each other strong, we hold each other up and together become a force to be recon with.

    Anyway, I think it’s awesome what your doing. Keep it up and keep us posted.

Leave a Reply

